My mother bought me this pattern about a year and a half ago and I finally cut it out last week. Simplicity 4138. Here is the link to pattern reveiw: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/patterns/sewingpatterns.pl?patternid=15023.

When I bought the fabric  last year, I did not know which view I was going to make so I bought enough fabric to include a flounce or ruffle. Well, I decided on view F which is the plain middle length view.  It called for 2 yards of fabric and since it was sheer, I bought two yards of lining fabric also.  I began to get frustrated when I could not get all the pieces I needed out of the lining fabric.  It just did not make sense!  I must have looked at those pattern pieces for 20 minutes trying to figure it out.  So I preceded to sew the skirt and stopped and bought more lining fabric on the way home from work yesterday.

So today I cut out the two remaining pieces and as I am marking the fabric before I removed the pattern pieces, I realized that I was cutting view H (the longest view) all along!  No wonder I did not have enough lining fabric.  Duh!!! I amazes me that I got that far along in the process and just realized that I cut the longer length.

This is not a problem as the fabric is yellow with browns and rust and will look good in the fall with a jacket and boots.  It will work for the remaining of summer with sandels and a tank. I have to finish the waistline and hem it so I should have it done in a few days.

This is a very easy pattern by the way. At least the plain version is.  I have only done very basic sewing and since this was sheer, I used French seams for the first time. I really like them. I think that next spring Iwill make view C with the ruffles.

On another note, I made it to the gym today.  My goal is three times this week.  I hope everyone has a great Wednesday tomorrow and have fun in everything you do!

